Advanced Leadership Corps

The Advanced Leadership Corps (ALC) is an intensive program that helps city and county elected officials understand their leadership styles and gain insight into how to work with others in their communities, their region and the state. ALC was created in 2013 in conjunction with the UNC School of Government and the N.C. League of Municipalities as part of NCACC President Howard Hunter III's initiative on mentoring and leadership.

The program consists of three parts:
  • Advance work: You will complete assessments in advance designed to give you insight into your leadership style.
  • On-site program: The program runs from Sunday evening to Friday afternoon at the Carolina Inn in Chapel Hill; participants and instructors work together all day and most evenings.
  • Follow-up coaching: Every participant receives two sessions with a professional executive coach. 
Application and acceptance
Any experienced local elected leader is eligible to apply for the Advanced Leadership Corps. Preference will be given to those who have served more than one term of office. All applicants will be considered based on space availability. The class is limited to 24 participants. The UNC School of Government manages applications.

Visit and click on the "Register" button to fill out and submit an application. The application deadline is July 13, 2018.

You will be notified by Executive Director Kevin Leonard no later than July 30.

Registration fee
Thanks to generous support from Prudential, the fee to attend is $500, making it possible for local elected leaders across North Carolina to participate.  Meals, hotel and any overnight parking are included in the course fee.

What Advanced Leadership Corps expects from you:
  • Spending a week in Chapel Hill, Sept. 30 - Oct. 5
  • Prepare in advance of the program
  • Share with others and respect differences
  • Be fully present
If you have questions about your status in the LELA program, visit to look up your credits earned, or contact Julie Totten (919-715-2893 or


2016 class
Charles Farley, Pitt County 
Anna Baucom, Anson County 
Ernestine Byrd Bazemore, Bertie County 
Ed Booth, Beaufort County
Ron Wesson, Bertie County
Viola Harris, Edgecombe County
Page Lemel, Transylvania County
Barbara Beatty, Catawba County 
Garry Meiggs, Camden County 
Ronnie Beale, Macon County 
Kevin Leonard, NCACC

2015 class
Lisa Barnes, Nash County
Tare "T" Davis, Warren County
Fannie Greene, Northampton County
Steve Jarvis, Davidson County
Carol McCall, Scotland County
Linda Millsaps, NCACC
Mary Perkins-Williams, Pitt County
Ellen Reckhow, Durham County
Penny Rich, Orange County
Mark Richardson, Rockingham County
Pat Sykes, Brunswick County
Glen Webb, Pitt County

2014 class
Dempsey Bond, Jr., Martin County
George Dunlap, Mecklenburg County
Elizabeth Floyd, NCACC
Wendy Jacobs, Durham County
Fred McClure, Davidson County
D. Cole Phelps, Washington County
Larry Phillips, Surry County
Renee Price, Orange County
Ronnie Smith, Martin County

2013 class
Kevin Austin, Yadkin County
Jonathan Barfield, Jr., New Hanover County
Gary D. Blevins, Wilkes County
J. Martin Cooke, Jr., Brunswick County
Brenda Howerton, Durham County
Howard Hunter III, Hertford County
Tracey A. Johnson, Washington County
Patrice Roesler, NCACC
Robert Wisecarver, Davie County